Easter Island

Hanga Roa is the main town, harbour and seat of Easter Island, a municipality of Chile.

Easter Island (Spanish: Isla de Pascua, Rapa Nui) is one of the most isolated islands on Earth. Early settlers called the island “Te Pito O Te Henua” (The Navel of the World).

It is a territory of Chile that lies far off in the Pacific Ocean, roughly halfway to Tahiti.

Known as one of the world´s sacred sites, it is most famous for its enigmatic giant stone statues or moai whose oversized heads, carved centuries ago, reflect the history of the dramatic rise and fall of the most isolated Polynesian culture.

It is located in the southern part of the island’s west coast, in the lowlands between the extinct volcanoes of Terevaka and Rano Kau.

To its original inhabitants the island is known as Rapa Nui (“Great Rapa”) or Te Pito te Henua (“Navel of the World”). The first European visitors, the Dutch, named it Paaseiland (“Easter Island”) in memory of their own day of arrival.

Currency: The official currency is the Chilean peso, USD and Euro´s widely accepted.

Language: The official language is Spanish.

First visit December 22-2017, second visit January 28-2023

Adamstown, Pitcairn Island
Crossing the Equator Neptune Ceremony

Sign up with your email address to receive news and updates.


Leave a Reply